UEFA Champions League


The Champions League is the biggest club competition in the world of soccer. It is held in Europe by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). It consists of the best of the best from each country in Europe. The competition includes a group stage of 32 teams followed by round of 16, quarterfinals, semifinals and the final. Winning this trophy is the ultimate goal for any major club based in European countries. The UEFA Champions League (UCL) is held annually beginning in the fall with the final played in May. Real Madrid, based in Spain, currently hold the most UCL titles of any team, 13. As for how teams actually qualify, the top five leagues in Europe, Premier League, Ligue 1, Serie A, Bundesliga, and La Liga, all send their top four teams to compete in the Champions League the following season. The rest of the domestic leagues in Europe get one or two teams into the UCL and the smaller and cheaper clubs go into a playoff to see who gets the last couple spots in UCL group stage. And lastly, the winner of the Europa League makes it to the Champions Leage the following season.

Most UCL Titles
Club Titles
Real Madrid 13
AC Milan 7
FC Bayern 5
Liverpool FC 5
FC Barcelona 5